You’ve Got Mail!

It’s been a long tiring day at work, you get home only to find that you can barely push the door open.  You manage to open it wide enough to squeeze inside and you see the problem…

….a pile of flyers that have built up over the day.

It doesn’t end here though.  Once you’re in and have settled into whatever it is that you’re doing, you can hear the constant clapping of the letterbox flap, this carries on late into the evening. So now you’ve got a tree’s worth of flyers that are just going to go straight into the recycling bin.  It’s such a waste.

What can anyone do about this?  I suppose it doesn’t help that I live five minutes’ walk from the University (hot spots for take-aways).  I can’t go around all the local business and ask them to take me off their mailing list;  even if I put a sign up it’ll get ignored.  I’m not angry at the distributors, because lets face it, at least they’re working!

So the other day I decided to turn the situation on its head and have a bit of fun with it.  I was minding my own business clearing up the living room when I noticed a distributor approaching the house.  I hid beside the door and as the he open the letter box to put the flyer through I shoved my hand through frantically grabbing the flyer off him.  To say he jump back would be a bit of an understatement.

I did open the door and apologise to him after, he was quite shaken but managed to smile and walk on to the next house.

About Nas

Hello there, I work in eLearning in HE and have a background in IT and multimedia. I'm into photography and gadgets.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You’ve Got Mail!

  1. M says:

    Funny thing happened to me as I was out distributing flyers. When I put my hand in one of the letter flaps, I jumped because I felt a hand grab mine. I thought it was a dog at first, but then I realised that someone was just messing with me…

Leave a Reply

